Monday, April 26, 2021

George Hosking, CEO of WAVE Trust,  today wrote to the Department of Health on behalf of WAVE Trust and other organisations and individuals (see below) with regards to the ongoing consultation on the Mental Health Act.

George wrote that the white paper, and any forthcoming legislation, should:

  1. Recognise the prevalence of trauma throughout the population (Including how it manifests in different genders and ethnic groups), including among those detained under the Mental Health Act; as well as the significant part it plays in the mental health issues of a large proportion of people who would be subject to this legislation.
  2. Legislate for public health measures to ensure that local and/or national Governments are mandated to produce regular and well-resourced inter-agency plans with communities to prevent avoidable trauma, in particular child abuse, neglect and children witnessing domestic violence, and with a particular emphasis on the early years.
  3. Legislate for mandatory trauma-informed training for mental health staff and all other staff who are involved in enforcing the Mental Health Act, as well as the provision of a wider range of trauma-informed therapies for patients detained under the Act.

The full list of signatories is:

  • Adam Jones, Policy and Public Affairs Manager on behalf of the UK Council for Psychotherapy
  • Andy Cruickshank, Director of Nursing (London Mental Health), East London NHS Foundation Trust
  • George Hosking, CEO and Research Director on behalf of WAVE Trust
  • Hannah Leigh, Lived experience activist
  • Isaac Samuels, Co-chair of the National Co-production Advisory Group Think Local Act Personal; and Co-chair of the APPG working group on Adult Social Care
  • Jasmin Shaw, Caseworker for Florence Eshalomi MP
  • Jennifer Edwards CBE FFPH, former CEO of the Mental Health Foundation
  • Lisa Cameron MP
  • Lucy Thorpe, Head of Policy, Mental Health Foundation
  • Martin Bell, Head of Policy and Public Affairs, on behalf of the British Association for Counselling & Psychotherapy (BACP)
  • Professor Mike Wang, Chair of the Association of Clinical Psychologists (ACP) UK, on behalf of ACP UK
  • Rt Hon Paul Burstow, Chair, Tavistock and Portman NHS Foundation Trust and Professor of Mental Health Public Policy
  • Rachel Hopkins MP
  • Rita Waters, Chief Executive, on behalf of NYAS (National Youth Advocacy Service)
  • Sally Ann-Hart MP
  • Suzanne Coyne, Practice Development Manager, Violence Reduction Network, Lancashire County Council
  • Wera Hobhouse MP